Kurt Roeper Receives A.P. Wherry Award for Contributions to Steel Door Industry

August 11, 2014, WESTLAKE, Ohio - Kurt Roeper, an active member of the Steel Door Institute (SDI) and distinguished contributor to the steel door industry for more than 20 years, was recently awarded the A.P. Wherry Award.

The A.P. Wherry Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the progress of standard steel doors. The award is named in honor of Allen P. Wherry, who was Managing Director of the Steel Door Institute from 1954 to 1995. This is the first time the award has been given since 2010.

Jeff Wherry, son of A.P. Wherry and current Managing Director of SDI, commented, “Kurt has played a key leadership role in the development of SDI’s steel door standards, which are used by thousands of architects around the world.” Kurt was especially instrumental in developing or revising:

  • ANSI/SDI A250.8 - Recommended Specifications for Standard Steel Doors and Frames
  • ANSI/SDI A250.11 - Recommended Erection Instructions for Steel Frames
  • ANSI A250.13 - Testing and Rating of Severe Windstorm Resistant Components for Swinging Door Assemblies

Mr. Wherry continued, “Kurt is also the primary SDI liaison to the Door Safety Council, ICC, and the fire standards ASTM E05, NFPA 101 and NFPA 80. He’s a very busy guy!”

Mr. Roeper commented, “I have been affiliated with the Steel Door Institute for many years, and have been in attendance for each of the A.P. Wherry Award presentations, beginning in 1997. To be added to the list of those who have received this award is a tremendous honor, and one for which I am very grateful.”

The honoree is currently Director, Industry Affairs, Codes and Standards at ASSA ABLOY Americas. Kurt worked for Ingersoll Rand Security Technologies (now known as Allegion) from 1988 to 2011. His positions at that company included Director of Codes, Standards and Building Regulations; Manager of Codes and Standards; Senior Product Manager; and Manager of Research and Product Development.

Mr. Roeper has an A.A. in engineering, a B.S. in business administration from Franklin University, and has an Executive Certificate in International Management from the Thunderbird School of Global Management.

Past recipients of the A. P. Wherry award are:

2010 Fred Pipin
2008 Thomas R. Janicak
2007 Stan L. Horsfall
2006 Allan C., Ashachik
2005 Jerry N. Currie
2004 J. Jeffery Wherry
2003 G. Thomas Castino
2001 James J. Urban
2000 David A. Gilda
1999 George E. Meyer
1998 Donald L. King
1997 Vincent C. Braun