Fred Pipin Recognized for his Contributions to Steel Door Industry Receives A.P. Wherry Award

October 27, 2010 WESTLAKE, Ohio ― Fred Pipin, whose contributions to the steel door industry have spanned three decades, was honored by the Steel Door Institute as the 2010 recipient of the A.P. Wherry Award.

The A.P. Wherry Award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the progress of standard steel doors. The award is named in honor of Allen P. Wherry, who was Managing Director of the Steel Door Institute from 1954 to 1995.

Mr. Pipin said, “I am overwhelmed with this honor. I met Allen in the early 1980’s when I first joined the SDI. Allen was a dynamic “reasonably quiet” man. To think that one day I would receive the A.P. Wherry award was not in the farthest stretches of my imagination. I thank all of those with whom I have worked; they are the ones that made this possible.”

The honoree is a graduate of Wabash College, with an MBA from the University of Chicago Business School and a CPA in the state of Illinois.

He began his career as an auditor for Arthur Young & Company in Chicago, progressing to other accounting and financial positions before joining the steel door industry in 1984. He remained with the Kewanee Corporation, a manufacturer of hollow metal steel doors and frames and basement window products, until 2007.

Active in civic matters, Mr. Pipin has volunteered with the Illinois Manufacturing Extension Center since 1997 and served as Chairman from 2003 to 2007.

Past recipients of the A. P. Wherry award are:
2008 Thomas R. Janicak
2007 Stan L. Horsfall
2006 Allan C., Ashachik
2005 Jerry N. Currie
2004 J. Jeffery Wherry
2003 G. Thomas Castino
2001 James J. Urban
2000 David A. Gilda
1999 George E. Meyer
1998 Donald L. King
1997 Vincent C. Braun